vendredi 23 mars 2012


Avec un peu de retard, le communiqué de presse en anglais !


These two champions have earned their star status with a total of 14 Dakar victories between them, including lastest race.
Stéphane Peterhansel and Cyril Després have been friends off the track, often crossing paths at various events, but had never before teamed up for a competition.
This past weekend, they grabbed their chance at the Baja 500 all-terrain endurance race for SSV (Side by Side Vehicles) only, held on the beautiful grounds of the Château Lastours near Narbonne, France.
These two champions thrilled to get together again, and the challenge of embarking on a shared adventure was the icing on the cake.
The race took place on a highly technical course, ten laps on a forty-kilometer (25-mile) track with two pilots per vehicle to make it to the nighttime finish. A race which turned out to be a grueling one for both the men and their vehicles.
The two champions shared the wheel of a Polaris RZR 900XP, the Dakar 2012 winner in the T3 and solo categories driven by Willy Alcaraz (Team XTem+ Polaris Racing).
They were ready to face 70 specialists of the discipline, most of them also aboard a Polaris RZR 900XP and armed with solid experience. One of these experienced drivers was Jean Philippe Dayrault three-time winner of the Trophée Andros and the formidable Belgian team Sébastien Guyette – Philippe Cuvelier winner of the 2011 edition.
Undaunted, Stéphane Peterhansel and Cyril Despres went into the race with just one objective: to have a great time, driving for the sheer pleasure of it.
Jean Philippe Dayrault won the prologue which determined poll position, followed by Stéphane Chambon and Stéphane Peterhansel.
From the noontime start, the race took off at a record-breaking pace with the front runners creating general amazement by completing their first lap under the 50 minute mark!
Cyril Despres grabbed himself a place in the lead group. After the first two laps, he passed the wheel to Stéphane Peterhansel.
Very soon, a foursome formed at the head of the race with Jean Philippe Dayrault in the lead, followed by Sébastien Guyette – Philippe Cuvelier, Noël Ferro - Christophe Servant (3rd in 2011) and Stéphane Peterhansel - Cyril Despres.
Dust was everywhere, stirred up from the very dry track, and made overtaking difficult and risky, even more so the last few laps after nightfall.
As the drivers switched off lap after lap, the SSVs held onto their original positions except for a battle between the two leaders right up until the last lap when the Belgian team finally pulled ahead for the win.
The dynamic duo Stéphane Peterhansel - Cyril Despres, all smiles, congratulated one another on the finish-line podium, relishing their remarkable 4th place finish.
Also driving a Polaris 900XP, Andrea Mayer and Laia Sanz, both winners at the Dakar in the Female motorcycle category, flirted with 10th place at the start of the race before being penalized by two consecutive flat tires, finishing the race in 25th place.

Overall ranking: :
1. Sébastien GUYETTE/ Philippe CUVELIER - Polaris RZR 900 XP AT4R
2. Jean-Philippe DAYRAULT - Polaris RZR 900 XP QUAD AGENCY
3. Noël FERRO / Christophe SERVANT - Polaris RZR 900 XP PRO QUAD
4. Stéphane PETERHANSEL / Cyril DESPRES - Polaris RZR 900 XP XTREM+
5. Hubert DELTRIEU/ Jean-Yves TISSERANT - Polaris RZR 900 XP QUAD PLUS
6. Frédéric HANRICY / Eric BERSEY - Polaris RZR 900 XP AT4R
7. Eric ABEL / Christian MANEZ - Polaris RZR 800S
8. Jean-Pierre CAPPONI
9. Christophe ANGLADE/ Jean-Philippe BEZIAT - Polaris RZR 900 XP QUAD AGENCY
10. Laurent ROUSTAN - Polaris RZR 900 XP AT4R
25. Andrea MAYER/ Laia SANZ - Polaris RZR 900 XP AT4R

Aucun commentaire: